The 6 Best Bitcoin Debit Cards

Crypto Currency Credit Cards
There are several bitcoin debit cards to choose from. We have compared the best 6 bitcoin debit cards available for people who live in Sweden. SpectroCoin and CryptoPay have low fees, good customer support and tick the boxes for what Swedes need to think about when selecting a card. 

It is important for Swedes that their bitcoin-card has a chip and that the funds are stored in fiat money on the card, more about that and costs for using bitcoin-cards below.

CardFiat CurrencyStart-up FeeAnnual FeeLoad Fee from Their WalletForeign Exchange FeeATM Fee in the Euro ZoneATM Fee Outside the Euro ZoneWebbpage
Swedish Big-Banks Debit-/CreditcardsSEK0195-360 SEK-1.5-1.65%0-40 SEK0-40 SEK
SpectroCoinUSD/EUR/GBP8 EUR12 EUR03%2.25 EUR2.75 EURSpectroCoin
CryptoPayUSD/EUR/GBP15 EUR12 EUR1%3%2.25 EUR2.75 EURCryptoPay
BitPayUSD/EUR/GBP15 EURN/AN/A3%3 USD, 2 USD in the US3 USDBitPay
BitwalaUSD/EUR/GBP8 EUR12 EUR0.5%3%2.25 EUR2.75 EURBitwala
WageCanUSD/EUR/GBP13.75 EUR12 EUR0*3%2.25 EUR2.75 EURWageCan
WirexUSD/EUR/GBP15 EUR12 EURN/A**02.25 EUR2.75 EURWirex

* According to the company, the load fee is included in the exchange rate. One should take all information about exchange rates with a grain of salt as they can include hidden fees. Take traditional debit cards as an example, Swedish big banks charge a 1.5-1.65% foreign exchange fee, but card users also pay the fee that the bank pays to their exchange partners. We have not been able to verify what that fee is, and wonder if anyone is...

** Currencies are converted at wholesale rate.

SpectroCoin
crypto currency debit card

A European card that offers instant deposits of funds onto the card (other providers need up to a few business days) and the possibility for others to instantly deposit funds onto your debit card.

Delivery time: 3 - 4 weeks.

Customer support: Phone support to a UK number. They answer 24 hours per day Monday through Friday. Email and chat are also available.

Our assessment: Our recommendation. They have low fees and good customer support.

CardFiat CurrenciesStart-up FeeAnnual FeeLoad Fee from their walletForeign Exchange FeeATM Withdrawal fee in Euro-zoneATM Withdrawal Fee Outisde Euro-zoneWebsite
Swedish big-bank Debet-/Credit CardsSEK0195-360 SEK-1.5-1.65%0-40 SEK0-40 SEK
SpectroCoinUSD/EUR/GBP8 EUR12 EUR03%2.25 EUR2.75 EURSpectroCoin

CryptoPay
crypto currency credit card

A UK-based card that offers the possibility for others to deposit funds onto your card.

Delivery time: Up to 3 weeks.

Customer support: Friendly and helpful staff is available via chatt, even on Sundays. It's also possible to email them.

Our assessment: Our recommendation. Low fees (except that they charge a small loading fee) and they have good customer support.

CardFiat CurrenciesStart-up FeeAnnual FeeLoad Fee from their walletForeign Exchange FeeATM Withdrawal fee in Euro-zoneATM Withdrawal Fee Outisde Euro-zoneWebsite
Swedish big-bank Debet-/Credit CardsSEK0195-360 SEK-1.5-1.65%0-40 SEK0-40 SEK
CryptoPayUSD/EUR/GBP15 EUR12 EUR1%3%2.25 EUR2.75 EURCryptoPay

BitPaybitcoin debit card bitpay

This US-based cad is one of the most all-encompassing Crypto Currency debit card on the market offering several services.

Delivery time: Up to 3 weeks.

Customer support: Only by email.

Our assessment: A good card but the ATM withdrawal fee is a bit high in Sweden, and the customer support has room for improvement.

CardFiat CurrenciesStart-up FeeAnnual FeeLoad Fee from their walletForeign Exchange FeeATM Withdrawal fee in Euro-zoneATM Withdrawal Fee Outisde Euro-zoneWebsite
Swedish big-bank Debet-/Credit CardsSEK0195-360 SEK-1.5-1.65%0-40 SEK0-40 SEK
BitPayUSD/EUR/GBP15 EURN/AN/A3%3 USD, 2 USD in US3 USDBitPay

Bitwala

This is a popular German card that you can top up using 60+ cryptocurrencies. The company makes a welcomed effort to be transparent with their fees.

Delivery time: 2-3 weeks.

Customer support: The only way of contact is by creating a support ticket. In our test, it took 3 days for us to get an answer.

Our assessment: This is the card you need if you want to use other cryptocurrencies than bitcoin. 60+ cryptocurrencies… wow!

CardFiat currencyOpening FeeAnnual FeeLoading Fee from their WalletForeign Exchange FeeATM Withdrawal Fee in the Euro-zoneATM Withdrawal Fee outside the Euro-zoneWebbpage
Swedish Big-Bank Debit-/CreditcardsSEK0195-360 SEK-1.5-1.65%0-40 SEK0-40 SEK
BitwalaUSD/EUR/GBP8 EUR12 EUR0.5%3%2.25 EUR2.75 EURBitwala

WageCancrypto currency credit card

This Taiwanese card has gained a lot of popularity recently. The fees are low and you can deposit not only bitcoin but several altcoins as well.

Shipping time: However long normal mail from Taiwan usually takes.

Customer support: Only customer support through email. In our test, it took them 10-12 hours to respond and were not quite as helpful as we had hoped.

Our assessment: One of the better cards out there, and definitely one of the better names (made us think of a dancing Genghis Kahn).

CardFiat CurrenciesStart-up FeeAnnual FeeLoad Fee from their walletForeign Exchange RateATM Withdrawal fee in Euro-zoneATM Withdrawal Fee Outisde Euro-zoneWebsite
Swedish big-bank Debet-/Credit CardsSEK0195-360 SEK-1.5-1.65%0-40 SEK0-40 SEK
WageCanUSD/EUR/GBP13.75 EUR12 EUR0*3%2.25 EUR2.75 EURWageCan

* According to the company, the load fee is included in the exchange rate. One should take all information about exchange rates with a grain of salt as they can include hidden fees. Take traditional debit cards as an example, Swedish big banks charge a 1.5-1.65% foreign exchange fee, but card users also pay the fee that the bank pays to their exchange partners. We have not been able to verify what that fee is, and wonder if anyone is...

Wirex

This UK-based company started issuing bitcoin cards in 2014 and you can use 14+ cryptocurrencies to top it up.

Shipping time: 7 - 14 days.

Customer support: The only way to contact the company is through their online form. In our test, it took them 1.5 day to respond.

Our assessment: Although a good card, we would appreciate more transbarancy about their pricing.

CardFiat currencyOpening FeeAnnual FeeLoading Fee from their WalletForeign Exchange FeeATM Withdrawal Fee in the Euro-zoneATM Withdrawal Fee outside the Euro-zoneWebbpage
Swedish Big-Bank Debit-/CreditcardsSEK0195-360 SEK-1.5-1.65%0-40 SEK0-40 SEK
WirexUSD/EUR/GDP15 EUR12 EUR0N/A**2.25 EUR2.75 EURWirex

** Currencies are converted at wholesale rate.

Conclusion

We recommend SpectroCoin and CryptoPay because they have the lowest prices and the best customer support. If you want to use other cryptocurrencies than bitcoin, WageCan is the best card.

Good to Know About Bitcoin Debit Cards

Compared to traditional debit cards, most bitcoin debit cards are still expensive to use in Sweden, if you take all fees and exchange rates into account. It’s not the fees per-see that drive up the total cost but the fact that there is still no card company that exchanges cryptocurrencies directly to Swedish SEK. So, in order to buy and sell bitcoin (BTC) people who have SEK and want to spend SEK need to pay for two extra step of currency exchange (to and from EUR, USD or GDP). However, fees are coming down quickly, so check the latest fees before you decide.

When choosing a bitcoin debit card, the two most important things for people who live in Sweden is that the card has a chip and that the funds are stored as a fiat currency on the card. Swedish card-readers identify cards by chip and bitcoin is currently classified as a security by the Swedish tax authorities. This means that you must pay Capital Gains Tax on any value increase of your bitcoin, just like you do on any other security. If your funds are stored on your card as bitcoin and you spend your funds little by little over time, you will have an accounting nightmare when it’s time to file taxes.

We have only compared cards that have chips, store fiat money on the debit card and that require identity verification. (Yup, that's right. You can have a bitcoin card without anyone knowing who owns it, but usually to less favorable terms).

This review originally included two Chinese cards. Although the card issuers still are up and running, we just didn't think it's a good idea to recommend them after the Chinese government closed down all Chinese exchanges in October 2017 with extremely short notice. We have updated our review.

Updated 2017-10-19

Disclaimer: The information in this article, as all content on BlockBull Review, is not and should not be seen as investment advice. The information is for educational and/or entertainment purposes only, so use it at your own risk. It is possible to lose money when engaging in any investment including cryptocurrencies and past performance does not indicate future performance. Any opinions expressed are those of BlockBull Review's writers who are not broker-dealers or advisors of any kind.


LEARN THE BASICS

September 1, 2017

Bitcoin and Blockchain Basics

The basics of bitcoin are quite complicated. We describe it in simple terms. Get prepared to learn about a fascinating new world of revolutionizing technology, a banking industry that may be redundant and a lot less impoverished people.
September 19, 2017

Areas of Use – Why Do We Need Bitcoin?

Bitcoin and its blockchain technology has many advantages, it's fast, cheap and has the potential to become safer to transfer compared to our current ways to transfer money. Bitcoin could also eradicate our dependence on big banks, ease international trade and help the developing world.
September 19, 2017

What is Bitcoin?

Bitcoin is digital money. Because of its numerous benefits, many people believe bitcoin will soon replace national (fiat) currencies. Today, some people use bitcoin as a currency while others use it as a security for investment purposes. 

More Reviews

July 28, 2017
Crypto Currency Credit Cards

The 6 Best Bitcoin Debit Cards

There are several Bitcoin debit cards to choose from, and the fees and services vary quite a lot. We have compared the best 6 Bitcoin debit cards available for people who live in Sweden.
August 23, 2017

The 5 Best Bitcoin Exchanges in 2018

We have reviewed the most used, reputable and safest exchanges comparing security, fees, user friendliness, customer support and feature richness.
December 17, 2017

The Best Hardware Wallets in 2018

A full comparison of the best hardware wallets in 2018. How they protect your cryptocurrencies, their user-friendliness, price etc. And what are these things anyway?
Share